patience & perspective

Like usual, today was another long day. This time it was different because I almost hit a breaking point. I was close to tears in the middle of the day because everything was going wrong. I didn’t accomplish my first task on the calendar due to individuals’ resistance towards my goal. These individuals put up a brick wall and wouldn’t let me pass no matter what I said or did. It was the most frustrating experience I have had so far at my job. But it illuminated the importance of patience a person must have in order to be an effective communicator. (I really need to work on my patience a bit more.) I also was confronted with a situation I had never dealt with before. Luckily I had someone by my side to guide and support me through it. Looking back I realize how the situation gave me a knew perspective on my life in America. (Everyday my perspective broadens as I learn knew things…but this caused me to reflect a bit deeper.) The individuals I work with are so strong. They have faced many obstacles before coming to America and some of the obstacles don’t disappear when they arrive here. I wish I could wave my magic wand to fix it all but I don’t have that kind of power. Instead, I have the blessing to be in solidarity with these people; to listen to their stories; meet their loved ones; share in their culture. I might often be exhausted from this work. I will probably always say, today was another long day. But what an enriching job I am privileged to have. It adds fuel to my fire that burns for justice. It humbles me beyond belief. It opens my eyes to broken systems within our society. It has transformed me into a more socially aware individual advocating for refugees. This job is where I am meant to be at this time in my life and I am so thankful for it…regardless of the challenges it presents me with each day. 

2 thoughts on “patience & perspective

  1. Sarah-my prayers are with you! Fighting the good fight is emotional and tiring but the work you are doing will be more than worth it in the end. Don’t forget to take care of yourself, Carol 🙂

Leave a Reply

